Tiger in the water

Taman National Komodo

Komodo dragon (Varanus komodoensis Ouwens)

The beautiful from Bali

Thursday, May 21, 2009

Komodo National Park was establish in March 6th 1980 and designated as a Man and Biosphere Reserve in 1986 and as a World Heritage Site in 1991 by UNESCO. Administratively, the park is in Komodo Sub-district, West Manggarai District, and East Nusa Tenggara Province. Geographically, it lay between Flores Island (East Nusa Tenggara) and Sumbawa Island (West Nusa Tenggara).

KNP covers about 173.300 hectares; consist of 40.728 hectares terrestrial part and 132.572 hectares of marine part. Three largest islands are Komodo (33.937 hectares), Rinca (19.627 hectares), and Padar (2.017 hectares). Most of its topography is mountainous with the highest peak are Ara (808 m asl) and Satalibo (726 m asl). The weather is dry with average annually rainfall about 500 1000 mm. Rainy season occurs during January to April with storm wave strong enough that could make boat travel in danger.
Compare to the other region in Indonesia, KNP supports limited numbers of wild plant and animal species. Only the species which could do adaptation to dry environment that will survive. In this park has about 244 species of terrestrial plants, 16 species of mammals, 111 species of birds, 34 species of reptiles, and 3 species of amphibians.
There are 3 villages in the park i.e. Komodo Village in Komodo Island, Pasir Panjang Village (Rinca and Kerora) in Rinca Island, and Papagaran Village in Papagaran Island.
Readmore »»